Stained Glass Windows

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”
– Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

By: Gabriela Yareliz

When darkness rolls in, it’s intimidating. It demands an adjustment in our vision, both literally and in more profound ways.

I think I have realized that almost everyone (including myself) is self-absorbed. We each have our own darkness to grapple with at different points in life. Often, the darkness each one of us faces in life is one we mostly face on our own. Because no one sits in our pew, so to speak, nor does anyone stand in our shoes. It’s individual.

I read something yesterday that really made me think. It was an older woman stating that we can’t live like we are dead, before we are dead. We do this when fear paralyzes us. Or perhaps when we do something I am guilty of, when we assume the worst will happen.

I think we need time to process certain things, time to figure things out, which is normal, but then, we have to move on. We need to live.

I don’t want to live in fear or pain. I have always wanted to be a warrior. I think I have been one, in certain times of my life, and right now, I feel like an exhausted warrior. And I think I have been unfair to those around me, wanting to be carried by them, when only I can stand on my two feet.

I want to be strong. So, I am asking God to be my strength because I feel very small. I know that in certain types of darkness, only we know the extent of our disappointment, fear and pain, but we keep that small flame alive inside. We guard it from every gust of wind that tries to take it out because it will warm us and guide us into brighter days.

Leave a Reply

