Bare Beauty

By: Gabriela Yareliz

The June 2017 Glamour issue is all about empowerment. Stories about body types that are not portrayed or accepted, ditching hair removal, embracing your hair’s natural texture, wearing makeup, not wearing makeup, ditching self tanner, getting sober– being “bare,” meaning being vulnerable inside and out.

I loved it. It made me happy. I have my own insecurities and struggles, like everyone else. This issue was inspiring. There was a story in it that touched me deeply about a young woman who had an amputation (right leg), but she decided to stop hiding her leg (prosthetic). This was a reminder that we are all in this together. Each of us reaching our realizations in our own time. I love that we come to certain realizations, and the fear begins to dissipate when we choose to live beyond fear. I am learning that it’s when we choose love and acceptance over fear that beauty radiates and inspires others.

