Raw

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Sometimes, I get upset with parts of myself when they react a certain way, or when I feel vulnerable and raw in my emotions.

I am learning to manage certain parts of me, in a better way. Sometimes, giving yourself permission is a step and accomplishment, in and of itself.

I am remembering that the eyes that sometimes well up with tears also light up when they are excited and happy. The feet that sometimes hurt are the ones that walked miles and have carried me this far.

The skin that sometimes breaks out is the skin that shows my every laugh and surprise.

The voice that sometimes breaks is the one that speaks up for others and strives for truth.

The stubbornness that sometimes fights back is part of the same spirit in me that will simply not give up.

And these are some thoughts in my process of being patient and accepting with myself.