How Love Unfolds

Have you ever seen something that makes you recall and relive your own story or experience?

I think that as we get older we start seeing and accepting things for what they are. For example, ourselves.

When I saw the last season of New Girl, I realized I was not and would never be like the cool and collected, always gorgeous, slightly emotionally stunted Cece. I knew I was like the nerdy, responsible, PJ set wearing Jess.

Watching Jess’ story unfold with Nick, reminded me of how my own story unfolded with my “Nick.”

It’s always exciting when you start out as friends. I would tell him of my weekend adventures and the interesting people I had met. I would search for his face in a crowd.

He always made me feel better. He cheered me up with snacks and plants. He always believed in me, even when I didn’t.

And then, one day, he said he would potentially start a new adventure far away. I literally felt pain in my heart. Had I really met a friend I didn’t want to live without? I had good practice with goodbyes, but this was not one I wanted to say.

I knew my life had changed; and it would never be the same. We both had a choice to make. We chose to stay.

He held my hand through some of the most uncertain moments. He didn’t flinch. I knew he wasn’t letting go and neither was I. He is the best man I have ever met, and I have the privilege of calling him mine.

Life sometimes gets us off focus. We are overwhelmed and tired. But we all need those moments where we look back at our story, and we see the steps that have brought us here. Here, to this place. There is no place I’d rather be. He is here, and that is more than I ever knew to ask for.

