Sunday Girl: October 9, 2016

tumblr_nc7buujw1m1rsum20o1_500

[From the Dillon-Panther Tumblr]

By: Gabriela Yareliz

It was one of those lazy Sundays. It was raining since early morning, and it rained throughout the day. Everything was grey, up until the sunset. Then, the sky turned blue and yellow.  I ate pumpkin pancakes and potatoes, and then crawled back into bed. I did all of my reading from under my cheetah blanket.

I know that a lot of us are preparing for different but important things, this week. Praying overtime. While anxiety assails, we know we trust in a loving God who never leaves us, whose love carries us through.

I was so inspired this morning as I thought about everything I am grateful for. My heart was overwhelmed. It still is. As I studied my Bible this morning, I was reassured that God is lovingly in control of my future and that everything will be fine.

“Faithful you have been; faithful you will be, God.”

As I opened scripture, God spoke to my heart through the words of King David: “The Lord has remembered us; He will bless us… He will bless those who fear the Lord, both the small and the great.” Psalm 115:12-13

As we start a new work/study week, may we be inspired by His love that surrounds us. May we see everything in the light of the fact that we are in the hands of a God who does not change. A God who is love. A God who is personal, who cares for you and for me.

Below are some inspiring words that brought peace to my heart. May they do the same for you.

“Ask God to prepare you for something new, something better. Remember God is able to do exceedingly and abundantly more than we could ask, or even imagine.”
Glen Fitzjerrell ( @unkaglen )

“I am saying that God is good, and even when things are not good, He works them for our good…God is Who He says He is. Even if we don’t know all the details along the way, we trust that He is good.”
Francis Frangipane (via kvtes)

“The trees are about to show us how lovely it is to let the dead things go.”
Anonymous (via snowy-autumnal-kisses)

“We do not write in order to be understood; we write in order to understand.” – C.S. Lewis

“What you pray for reveals what you believe about God.” Craig Groeschel

“It’s funny: I always imagined when I was a kid that adults had some kind of inner toolbox, full of shiny tools: the saw of discernment, the hammer of wisdom, the sandpaper of patience. But then when I grew up I found that life handed you these rusty, bent old tools – friendships, prayer, conscience, honesty – and said, Do the best you can with these, they will have to do. And mostly, against all odds they’re enough.”
Anne Lamott, Traveling Mercies

“He who does not understand your silence will probably not understand your words.”
Elbert Hubbard

“There are people who are always in love with the sky, no matter the weather. One day you will find someone who’ll love you the same way.”
Anonymous
“God’s sort of love isn’t like that. It’s not like human love. It has no reason to exist except that it does. I love you because I love you. God’s love is eternally grounded in Himself and for you. It’s not a matter of maintenance, but awakening, that you’d simply believe His love to be there and true.”
J.S. Park

“People grow when they are loved well. If you want to help others heal, love them without an agenda.”
Mike McHargue

“I will stay gentle no matter what I endure, I am so much more.”
Tyler Knott Gregson

“I am afraid. Of what? Life without having lived, chiefly.”
Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals, 1950-1962

“Sometimes, it is the smallest thing that saves us: the weather growing cold, a child’s smile, and a cup of excellent coffee.”
Jonathan Carroll

“It is truly beautiful how pure and compassionate you realise some people are when they open up to you like a book begged to be read.
It is truly beautiful how they are so vulnerable to love when they stop holding it all back.”
Soumya Goswami

“Life is uncertain and yet, God is so certain.”
Charles Stanley 

“There is something beautiful about a billion stars held steady by a God who knows what He is doing.”
Donald Miller

“The most common form of despair is not being who you are.”
Søren Kierkegaard

“People who wade into discomfort and vulnerability and tell the truth about their stories are the real badasses.”
Brene Brown

2 thoughts on “Sunday Girl: October 9, 2016

Leave a Reply

