Monday Inspiration: April 25, 2016

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Hello!

A new week begins. It’s my last full week at this age! Birthday week is almost upon me. And as you can tell, I am BEYOND excited. This past year was filled with exciting moments, difficult moments, new beginnings, new frustrations, new friends and a new phase in life. It’s been interesting, zeroing in on who I want to be and how I want to do things. What can I say?

I took a long walk today. The day was gorgeous. Spring is here to stay, I pray. The sky was blue, clouds were sparse, the grass was green and the trees were loaded with flowers. Walks are my “unload” moments. I walk, and by the end of the walk, I feel 10 lbs. lighter. Suddenly, it’s like my mind clears, and I see things that I didn’t see before.

Today, I specifically reflected on what I want this new year to be about. What I want to change, what I want to embrace, and where I need to grow.

As we get older, we discover more and more about ourselves. We grow in confidence in some things, and realize confidence is lacking in other things. And sometimes, we realize we don’t know what the heck is happening– still. Let’s be honest. But anyway, every day counts.

As I wrap up a year, this week, I want to start implementing some changes in my life. I want to celebrate certain parts of myself that I maybe ignore all too often. I want to be more consistent, more passionate, more merciful. I want to be less tired, more healthy (still trying to find a good workout that won’t cause me to lose weight since I have no weight to lose)… All this reflection got me thinking… it was a reminder that every day is a new opportunity.

I hope that, this week, you can find growth; celebrate something you don’t normally celebrate, realizing that even the small is important.

I am excited. It’s time to continue embracing and implementing grand living. #ThatShahLife, for sure.

Some inspiration for the week:

“We are always falling in love or quarreling, looking for jobs or fearing to lose them, getting ill and recovering, following public affairs. If we let ourselves, we shall always be waiting for some distraction or other to end before we can really get down to our work. The only people who achieve much are those who want knowledge so badly that they seek it while the conditions are still unfavorable. Favorable conditions never come.” C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory

“The best gift you are ever going to give someone— the permission to feel safe in their own skin. To feel worthy. To feel like they are enough.”
Hannah Brencher 

“You were the moon, all this time. And he was always there for you to make you shine.  

Was he the sun?

No, honey, he was the darkness.” Kazekirion 

“We are becoming by grace what God is by nature.”
(via pureblyss)

“Following God isn’t glamorous, but it is so beautiful. Your hands will get dirty & your heart will get wrecked, but love makes it worth it.” Julianne Wilson 

“Look for Christ and you will find Him. And with Him, everything else.” C.S. Lewis

“The thought of loving someone who loves you back unconditionally, impulsively and always; now that’s a hope I’ll hold on to.”
via whatisitgoodforabsolutelynothing

@jessica___: “[…] I found my old “gratitude notebook” I opened to the very last entry exactly 2 years ago today 4/24. For most of my life I have practiced the law of attraction, I credit it for getting me through extreme low points; when I had cancer, when my mother passed I somehow was able to remain positive and I know with 100% certainty that is why I was able to get through it. As I read the final entry in my notebook I couldn’t help but break down. I realize that my life is really what I have made of it. We are the creators of our universe. I’m unsure of why I fell off the “attitude of gratitude” bandwagon but what I do know is that ever since my life has changed. I’ve made myself a promise to start appreciating what I have instead of focusing on what could have been or what didn’t work out.”❤️

Here’s to: a new week; new beginnings; new energy; gratitude; changing how we react to adverse situations; a beautiful life that is filled with love.

Last week, at one point, I was walking around with a jittery, stressed out feeling and a knot in my throat. I don’t want that to be this week. And after several conversations with very wise people, I was reminded that I am the one who chooses whether that will happen again. How I react makes all the difference. You ready for Monday? I am praying I can make my Monday better than the last.

Leave a Reply

