Monday Inspiration: February 15, 2016

“To heal is to touch with love that which was previously touched by fear.” Stephen Levine

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Happy week to all of you, my fellow cold survivors. I had an amazing dinner on Saturday night. As we were walking outside, we checked the weather, and it was below zero temperatures. Craziness. It was so cold. It brought a whole new meaning to that stupid song that says, “I can’t feel my face when I’m with you.” #MillennialTakeOver #ColdHasUsNumb

They say, “Summer is a state of mind.” It’s summer right now, wherever you are. Make it summer. For my Australian readers, it’s actually summer… Anyway. Enough weather and hemisphere confusion. Greetings from NYC. The cold has our cheeks rosy, and we look related to the Michelin Man. That’s all you have to know.

This week, I was thinking about the mysteries of life. We often come to a point where we understand, perhaps, very little.

Life is like art. It’s not always meant to be understood, just experienced, and that experience changes you.

There is a verse that has kept coming up in my readings that says: “It is the glory of God to conceal things, but the glory of kings to search things out.” Proverbs 25:2.

While chapter 25 is an interesting chapter with many treasures and counsel, I like this thought of searching things out.

Oftentimes, the only person worthy of keeping or obtaining something is the one who sacrifices time and effort to search it out. Herein lies his glory and merit. Action. Risk. Determination. Recognition of worth.

Love is quite the theme this month. Continuing with that theme, this is a reminder, as we live out this week, that “perfect love drives out all fear.” Love unfolds for the persistent, the believer, the sincere, the one who is willing to go search it out.

xoxo.

And in other news…

Leyla Milani and her husband Manny Khoshbin announced her pregnancy with this photo!

image

Bun in the oven!! Too cute. Congrats to the Khoshbins!! I love seeing women who prioritize family and the people they love. Love is the most important thing of all. It never fails.

And now, some thoughts for every occasion and heart in this season:

“In your light, I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest like no one sees you-but sometimes I do, and that sight becomes this art.” Rumi

“When God says no, it can be heartbreaking, suffocating and something that will cause you to examine your entire life. But it is also for a greater good, a good that has not been seen by our eyes, a good that has not been touched by our hands, a good that will ultimately bring glory to Christ and a good that will ultimately bring about restoration to ourselves. For now, it’s okay to mourn and cry out; Christ understands the pain of rejection more than anyone in all of existence.”
T.B. LaBerge // Jesus, His Grace and the Gospel (via tblaberge)

“To love is not to be fragile; it is to be unlocked and open. And when something is open, other things can come in.”
Susan Meissner, Secrets of a Charmed Life (via wordsnquotes)

“I wish with all my heart that things were different — someday soon they will be. And now I know what was meant by ‘to say goodbye is to die a little’ — because when I walked away from you that last time and saw you standing there so darling did I die a little in my heart.”
— Humphrey Bogart’s first letter to Lauren Bacall

“Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.” 1 Corinthians 13:7-8

This week, lay fear aside, and choose to love.

[Image from @LeylaMilani]

2 thoughts on “Monday Inspiration: February 15, 2016

  1. “The perfect love drives out all fear.” Well said. My mantra for today (based on my day in A Course in Miracles) was: “Let miracles replace all grievances.” Put the two together and I think you have the recipe for a perfect life.

Leave a Reply

