Bar Trip

By: Gabriela Yareliz

It’s a tradition, I guess, that frustrated and relieved law graduates take a trip after graduation and after taking the bar exam. Many go; whether broke, well off, employed, unemployed– August is jet-set time.

I got lucky that I got a special gift from above (after all, the Bible says all good gifts come from our Father in heaven). The world came to me.

I had the pleasure and privilege of participating in this year’s Youth For Human Rights International Human Rights Summit at the United Nations. I met delegations from around the world and extraordinary people who are doing noble and honorable things for their fellow man in the face of threats, danger and lack of resources.

The experience was surreal. I saw incredible performances, met government leaders from abroad and passionate young professionals who are independent thinkers.

What a week! I will never forget this experience. It’s one that money can’t buy or even get you into. The people I met, the photos and stories I absorbed… It was extraordinary. A huge thank you to the United Nations for offering me such an epic experience.

This week confirmed what Paul says in Ephesians, and I encourage you to think on these words for whatever you are facing:

“Now unto Him (God) who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21.

He is able. And not only able, but He can do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think.

That is truth.

I conclude with the lyrics of a song that was performed at the UN, “The Impossible Dream.” May these words inspire us all.

“To dream the impossible dream; to fight the unbeatable foe; to bear with unbearable sorrow; to run where the brave dare not go.

To right the unrightable wrong;
To love pure and chaste from afar;
To try when your arms are too weary,
To reach the unreachable star.

This is my quest,
To follow that star;
No matter how hopeless–
No matter how far.

To fight for the right,
Without question or pause;
To be willing to march into Hell
For a heavenly cause.

And I know if I’ll only be true,
To this glorious quest,
That my heart will lie peaceful and calm,
When I’m laid to my rest.

And the world will be better for this,
That one man, scorned and covered with scars,
Still strove with his last ounce of courage,
To reach the unreachable star.”

Go for that impossible dream, because with God, all things are possible.

5 thoughts on “Bar Trip

  1. Did you ever googled Youth for human rights international before you attend their activities? Oh Lord. They are solely financed by Scientology, founded and staffed by them. Their purposes stated on the Scn website has been to apply LRH, founder of Scn “tech”, and showcase how good Scientologists are. If you are OK with that, please search for Scn abuses, such as those in the recent HBO documentary – Scientology and the prison of believe.

    • Hello,
      Thank you for taking the time to write. I am aware that the founder of the organization is a Scientologist and that the Church of Scientology is the main sponsor (though the organization is supported by other faith groups and governments as well, according to its website). Regardless, the organization and the young people who partake in it promote the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

      I can’t comment on the actions and motivations behind fallible human beings, because I myself am fallible and not all knowing. We can judge pretty much any belief system and even those with the absence of belief for atrocities committed by them in this world’s history. No human group is exempt.

      I will say that I have seen the work and projects being inspired by the UN Declaration, and it’s honorable work. Real lives are being changed; lives of those who are of diverse ethnic groups and faiths.

      So regardless of the faith group behind the message, I think we are all responsible for the same message: “All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.”

      Whatever one does in his or her personal sphere and with his or her beliefs is between the individual and God.

      Stay positive, and stay inspired!

  2. You will be surprised if you take a little time to check the information or “facts” that YHRI give you. It’s not their responsibility for the “facts” because it is you who posted it, not them. Starting with your own Church. Does your Church support them in any way? I would be interested to know. I know only a few controversial religious figures (different faith) supports, or have anything to do with, Scientology. The Nation of Islam is one example.

    Faith is a state of mind, but bad behavior is something people can identify and cannot be denied. I’m a victim of harassment by Scientology myself. It’s nothing compared to those that appeared in the HBO documentary “Going clear, Scientology and the prison of believe.”, but harassment cannot be ignored by being “positive”.

    I’m not trying to crush anybody with anything to do with Scientology. I’m just interested how people with little to do with Scientology ended up endorsing them and defending them. Is it just their misinformation? What’s the logic of defending them? What do you say to victims, like me?

    Consider this. A girl in her freshman year in a Taiwan University. Scientology got to her. After briefly taking Scientology courses, she signed up for the Sea Org for a billion years. Seeing these PR events, her family read my blogs but wouldn’t believe anything. With a Scientology accompanying her to the university, she completed the steps to quit forever. Then she went to Sydney, Australia to spend everyday in what everybody else would call a concentration camp. Very soon her brother called me, saying that her sister is in a hospital. Both her fists were severely hurt, obviously she was trying to knock her way out. She was in a psychiatry ward. She never had any problems before and was working part-time in the University as an admin to pay her tuition. She never recovered and now she cannot take care of herself.

    Even worse has yet to come. Google the news for “Alice Wu Scientology Australia”.

    Also, most parents are irrigated when YHRI cheated their way into schools without disclosing their connections with Scientology. You can find the info in many English newspapers. So, you ask all these parents to be positive?

    • Hello Mr. Leen,

      Thank you for taking the time to write. By saying stay positive I was in no way minimizing anyone’s pain or dismissing people’s experiences. I simply and generally meant just that, stay positive. As you can see, my blog reflects my own personal experiences. I cannot write about things I don’t know about or have not experienced. This is not a journalism piece. That doesn’t mean other’s experiences aren’t true, obviously. I simply wanted to state that I had a great time with youth from around the world, most who are not Scientologists anyway, and that I witnessed great projets and plans. It was a diverse group in every way. That is all. It breaks my heart that people are victims to atrocities, and I have worked in atrocity and genocide prevention. I am simply not going to be passing judgment on something I know little about. We all make our judgments, oftentimes, based on our experiences and those who surround us. It is not my intention to ever dismiss another person’s experience. I am simply reflecting my own.

      Thank you!

    • Thank you for sharing, by the way. I mean that sincerely. And I truly hope that you find a platform to share your story and those that you know of. I can’t stress enough how important it is to share. That is what it’s all about. Then, we all can become more informed and aware.

Leave a Reply

