Friday Glee: August 7, 2015

By: Gabriela Yareliz

I don’t know about you guys, but I am so exhausted and so blessed. What a week. The temperatures have dropped a bit. Autumn is reminding us that it is coming soon. I am currently reading through Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. An excellent read for those interested in philosophy, logic and faith. I have so much to say, and I don’t even know where to begin. So much has happened. I will just say that God is so good. Never doubt His goodness. More details and the rest of the story will come later. I promise. For now, let’s sit down, chill out, and think.

“Looking for God—or Heaven—by exploring space is like reading or seeing all Shakespeare’s plays in the hope that you will find Shakespeare as one of the characters…” C.S. Lewis

“An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered; an adventure is an inconvenience rightly considered.” – G.K. Chesterton , On Running After Ones Hat, All Things Considered, 1908

“[Pain] removes the veil; it plants the flag of truth within the fortress of a rebel soul.” C.S. Lewis

        “It’s not hard to decide what you want your life to be about. What’s hard, she said, is figuring out what you’re willing to give up in order to do the things you really care about.” Shauna NiequistBittersweet: Thoughts on Change, Grace, and Learning the Hard Way

“Loving someone is not just dates in pretty coffee shops, or road trips to fun new places. Love is planting a seed, protecting it from the harshness of this life, and ultimately seeing it bloom. We must not see love as a mine that we can just get whatever we want from, we must see it as something we help become more.” T.B. LaBerge

       “Let us end on a very simple note: Let us listen to simple words; our Lord speak simply: ‘Trust Me, My child,’ He says. ‘Trust Me with a humbler heart and a fuller abandon to My will than ever thou didst before. Trust Me to pour My love through thee, as minute succeeds minute. And if thou shouldst be conscious of anything hindering that flow, do not hurt My love by going away from Me in discouragement, for nothing can hurt so much as that. Draw all the closer to Me; come, flee unto Me to hide thee, even from thyself. Tell Me about the trouble. Trust Me to turn My hand upon thee and thoroughly to remove the boulder that has choked they river-bed, and take away all the sand that has silted up the channel. I will not leave thee until I have done that which I have spoken to thee of. I will perfect that which concerneth thee. Fear thou not, O child of My love; fear not.'” Amy Carmichael

Leave a Reply

