Monday Inspiration: January 19, 2015

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Hello Monday, and happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day! As I am writing this, it is Sunday, and I am up in the sky flying back to the Big Apple. Freezing rain is pelting down the city that is waiting for me. Oh New York! A city God’s providence has taken me to, and He has challenged and walked with me every step of the way. As I am up here, I am overwhelmed thinking about how many blessings have come to my life, and how many prayers God has answered for me. As I am flying back, with an aching heart missing my family and friends, on my little television set on the back of the seat in front of me, Princess Diaries 2 is playing. One of my favorite movies. I will take this as a wink from God; a nice comforting touch.

Today, as we honor Martin Luther King, Jr., I hope we keep present in our minds how God can use one person to inspire people and effect change. I hope we remember that God has a purpose for our lives and that while it may take sacrifice and a letter from the Birmingham Jail, dreams can come true.

I am forever grateful for Dr. King’s faith, dream and sacrifice.

“But though I was initially disappointed at being categorized as an extremist, as I continued to think about the matter, I gradually gained a level of satisfaction from the label. Was not Jesus an extremist for love:  ‘Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them that despitefully use you, and persecute you.'” Dr. King, pg. 179, Letter From a Birmingham Jail

image

“Earth is forgiveness school.”

Anne Lamott

image

[“I have learned to kiss the wave that slams me into the Rock of Ages.” Charles Spurgeon]

“The gift of darkness draws you to know God’s presence, beyond what thought, imagination, or sensory feeling can comprehend.” Richard Rohr, OFM

image

“Love, in the Christian sense, does not mean an emotion. It is a state not of the feelings but of the will; that state of the will which we have naturally about ourselves, and must learn to have about other people.”
 C.S. Lewis

image

“I am learning every day to allow the space between where I am and where I want to be to inspire me and not terrify me.”

Tracee Ellis Ross

image

“Just because it’s not happening right now doesn’t mean it never will.”

image

“Ten years from now, make sure you can say that you chose your life, you didn’t settle for it.”
Mandy Hale, The Single Woman

image

“I hope you find someone who is brave enough to enter your storm, and respects you enough to love the size of your waves. I hope you find someone who will relish the calm you can have, and who is eager to set sail on the expanse of your mind. I hope you find someone that can’t escape the love they have for you, because now they have you in their very blood, always reminding them that you are the only sea worth exploring.”

T.B. LaBerge // Unwritten Letters to You

image

“Courageous hearts are often covered in scars.”

T.B. LaBerge // Go Now

image

“What in the world would we do without our libraries?”

Katherine Hepburn

image

“You shouldn’t stop everything from happening. Sometimes you’re supposed to feel awkward. Sometimes you’re supposed to be vulnerable in front of people. Sometimes it’s necessary because it’s all part of you getting to the next part of yourself.”

Cecilia Ahern, The Book of Tomorrow

image

“You are the books you read, the films you watch, the music you listen to, the people you meet, the dreams you have, the conversations you engage in. You are what you take from these.”

image

“Ralph Waldo Emerson once asked what we would do if the stars only came out every thousand years. No one would sleep that night, of course…We would be ecstatic, made rapturous by the glory of God. Instead, the stars come out each night, and we watch television.” Paul Hawkens

What are you doing tonight?

[Images from Tumblr]

Leave a Reply

