Monday Inspiration: January 12, 2015

“She quietly expected great things to happen to her, and no doubt that’s one of the reasons why they did.”
Zelda Fitzgerald

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Happy Monday! Not much light is coming in through the sky lights today; it is dark, cloudy and rainy with a soundtrack of thunder. On Friday, I attended a very inspiring memorial service for a young woman I never met. The way people spoke about her was lovely. She touched so many peoples’ lives. It certainly made one reflect on how one lives life, how fleeting life is, how unnatural death is, and everything one person can leave behind.

Several close church friends are moving to California, which has also been a lot to take in. Lots of changes. I finished the Jane Hawking book. By the end of it, I just wanted to weep. I started reading Nick Vujicic’s book about meeting his wife, Kanae Vujicic. It is interesting to read two love stories involving people with what many would call a rare disability. Both men, while having a condition, have chosen to live so differently. Stephen Hawking and Nick Vujicic couldn’t be more different in the way they approached life. It was Stephen Hawking’s birthday not long ago, and I find it ironic that the fact that he has lived as long as he has lived defies all science and expectation. Compassion, which he despises and sees as pity and a religious sentiment, is one of the reasons he is who he is today. He is a miracle.

Anyway, perhaps I will write up my thoughts about The Theory of Everything in another post. For some reason, the desire to see the inconsistent and romanticized film has faded. I have had enough of Stephen Hawking.

I am currently hiding out with my dog because of the thunderstorm. It is definitely a knee sock and blanket day. When I don’t wear makeup and I catch my reflection somewhere, it somehow takes me back to former years. There are little parts of us that remain the same forever. Have you ever caught one of your own expressions, and it reminds you of your face when you were a kid? Sometimes, I feel exactly the same, timeless, ageless, whatever.

I am off to juice, console this doggy friend and keep reading Love Without Limits by the Vujicic family. A love story between two positive, sacrificing, wise and faith-filled people is so beautiful. While the Hawking “romance” (if one can even call it that) fills any chest with tightness and dread, the Vujicic story fills a heart with joy and hope.

This week, don’t underestimate the power a positive outlook and faith can have on your life. Don’t ever forget you have choices, and your choices determine what will come next; they really do.

[Images from Tumblr]

Leave a Reply

