This Month’s Picks: December 2014

Compiled by: Gabriela Yareliz

Another year coming to a close. Stay inspired. Here are my picks from December; the little things that made me smile. 🙂

1] Ellen White chosen as one of Smithsonian’s 100 Most Significant Americans. She has certainly had an ENORMOUS impact on my life, and it’s nice to see such an inspired woman recognized.

2] “Pain is temporary, glory lasts forever.” Len (Dancing With The Stars)

3]

4] Dance on FLEEK: Alfonso and Witney

5]

6] Quote of the semester:

“If birth and family circumstances dictate character, education in ethics can make little or no difference.” pg. 22 Professional Responsibility: A Contemporary Approach (Pearce, Capra, Green, Knake and Terry)

7]

“There’s a world of difference between truth and facts. Facts can obscure the truth.” – Maya Angelou

8] Is anyone else excited about this film? Jane Wilde (Hawking) is an extraordinary woman (a fighter), and I think their love story is amazing.

9] Because Sinatra is NYC in the winter. His voice is heard even when no music plays through the twinkling lights of the city, casting their glow on our hopes, joys, fears and romance.

10]

11]

12]

“The world is full of nice people. If you can’t find one, be one.”

13]

14]

One should learn how to live life from you, I spend my entire life inside a box.- Arjun

A person should remain in a box only once he is dead.-Laila

15] The bearded T.B. LaBerge writing from his soul. I love his Tumblr.

“I want to marry you, and watch the fire in your eyes burn as your face begins to wrinkle. I want to see how you are 50 years from now, and know that I married the girl whose soul could never die. I want to hear you when you’re angry and to laugh when you are happy, I want to know that I have someone who understands that life is tough, but it’s good when you have someone with you. I want to know that at the end of my life, I had someone that I could love and who loved me back.” –T.B. LaBerge// 50 Years
Also from his Tumblr:
16]
If you were on a dance show, who would you pick to be your partner?
17]
18]
Representing Canary Islands (Spain)! Ariadne Artiles. Love her.
19]
20]
“I shall spend every moment loving… One who loves, does not notice her trials; or perhaps more accurately, she is able to love them.”
St. Bernadette of Lourdes

21]

22]
“Don’t be afraid. There are exquisite things in store for you. This is merely the beginning.”
Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

23]

“I want to infect you with the tremendous excitement of living, because I believe that you have the strength to bear it.”
Tennessee Williams, from The Selected Letters: 1920-1945

24]
“I’m always inclined to believe that the best way of knowing [the divine] is to love a great deal. Love that friend, that person, that thing, whatever you like, you’ll be on the right path to knowing more thoroughly, afterwards; that’s what I say to myself. But you must love with a high, serious intimate sympathy, with a will, with intelligence, and you must always seek to know more thoroughly, better, and more.”
Vincent van Gogh

25]

Leave a Reply

