Sabbath Reading: Malcolm Muggeridge

I read this today, and I loved it. Malcolm Muggeridge was a journalist (he interviewed Coco Chanel for crying out loud!), satirist, and spy (during WWII).

“I may, I suppose, regard myself as a relatively successful man. People occasionally stare at me in the streets: that’s fame. I can fairly easily earn enough to qualify for admission to the highest lopes of the internal revenue.  That’s success. Furnished with money and even a little fame, even the elderly if they care to may partake of trendy diversions.  That’s pleasure. It might happen once in a while that  something I said or wrote was sufficiently headed for me to persuade myself that it represented a serious impact on our time. That’s fulfillment. Yet I say to you and beg you to believe me. Multiply these tiny triumphs by a million, add them all together, and they are nothing – less than nothing – a positive impediment measured against one draught of that living water Christ offers to the spiritually thirsty, irrespective of who or what they are.” Malcolm Muggeridge

Leave a Reply

