Reflections Before Bedtime #2

image

[Me, probably eight years old, being ridiculous at my abuelo’s house, wearing my grandmother’s nightgown.]

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Several people who were once closer to me (friends) have noted that I seem different but the same. It happens around the holidays, when people see you after a long time and when you are my age (going into my mid-twenties). This has made me think. I believe our essence remains, and while I may still be oblivious to some things in life, (*grin*) I like to think that I am different. We learn to love ourselves; we learn our worth; we learn to love others; we learn to let go; we dream; we idealize; we see reality; we break; we heal; we learn what we want; we go after what we want; we walk with God differently– I guess it’s called growing up. 

So, while my essence is still the same, I am different from who I was as a kid, in high school and even in college. Thus, there are parts of this new womanhood that some have not seen, yet; especially those who don’t see me or communicate with me in the day-to-day. And that is ok. When you have friends for a long time, it kind of calls for getting to know each other all over again. We can’t box ourselves into who we were, though. The different me you see is still me. I am still weirdly philosophical, feisty and quirky, but I am also a serious independent professional with responsibilities, and I am an ambitious adventurer. I am becoming a woman, and I am not done. 

This woman in the suit still carries the corduroy-wearing girl inside, I promise. But now, I am more, so much more. 

2 thoughts on “Reflections Before Bedtime #2

Leave a Reply

