A Wednesday Unlike Any Other

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Today was brutally FANTASTIC. It was a day where lawyering was done in an emotional and deep way. There is something just magical about spilling hope out with honesty. It falls silently and heavy. Today, I heard my voice loud and clear, and it was a gentle reminder that along this crazy journey of confusion, trial and error, hard work, tears, and hope–> I grew up. Someone today took me to the side and said, “See that? That is influence,” he shot me a mischievous grin with a wink, “use it, always use it.” It’s like he knows I will.

I survived weather that felt like 14 degrees Fahrenheit (-10 C for my many friends abroad), Amtrak, a bath of hot chocolate, a coat with soap foam, a pencil skirt that slightly ripped when I torpedoed myself into a van, a bat cave, a taxi driver who was probably legitimately insane, Penn Station, and running into a church member from Florida in a NYC public restroom. Now my room is 30 degrees, and I have a night of work ahead of me. My brain is flickering, so I thought I would get some inspiration, a water bottle and say some prayers. This eternal day is about to fade into the next.

 

“Life doesn’t always give you second chances, so take the first one.”

“Missing someone isn’t about how long it’s been since you have last seen them or the amount of time it has been since you last talked. It’s about that very moment when you are doing something and you wish that they were right there with you.”

“Call your mother. Tell her you love her. Remember you are the only one who knows what her heart sounds like from the inside.”

 

“So, do it. Decide. Is this the life you want to live? Is this the person you want to love? Is this the best you can be? Can you be stronger? Kinder? More compassionate? Decide. Breathe in. Breathe out and decide.” Meredith Grey

 

“Airports see more sincere kisses than wedding halls. The walls of hospitals have heard more prayers than the walls of churches.” Unknown

 

[Images from Tumblr, typos by me;-)]

 

Leave a Reply

