This Month’s Picks: October 2014

By: Gabriela Yareliz

That’s it. October is out with a bang! And November is being swept in by a cold gust of wind (and not the weird Pharrell ‘you-remind-me-of-the-air’-“Gust of wind” song).

Here is my compilation of fun things I found throughout the month, as usual. There are a few of my favorite things sprinkled below: some Friends, an Italian icon, a Spanish legend-in-the-making, funny people, handsome soccer players, a rugged man who wears flannel, Bollywood, music, inspiration, Mumford & Sons lyrics, thought-provoking articles and Sarko.

1] “Don’t make your fear more powerful than your dreams.” -Unknown

“Behind every fear is a person you want to be.” -Unknown

2]

3] Grow up 😉

4] Can we see the highlights of the Real Madrid v. Barcelona game, again? REAL MADRID!!!! It was glorious. My man, Karim Benzema, scored the last goal. I could watch that man run up and down the field, all day.

5]

6]

7] “If you want to improve, be content to be thought foolish and stupid.” – Epictetus

8] Expect Miracles’ post of the month: Be the Baker

image

9] Lillie McCloud blew my mind.

10] Louis Vuitton celebrates the Monogram with a boxing inspired ad (which I loved).

11] Gael Garcia Bernal is in Jon Stewart’s upcoming film Rosewater. I still remember a University of Florida poster sale, when I asked for a Motorcycle Diaries poster, and the guy was like, “We have a Che poster.” I was like, “No, I want Gael Garcia Bernal’s face on it.”

12] These two are hilarious: Leila and Geraldine

13] Oscar Wilde and Walt Whitman Spent an Afternoon Together. I saw this on a classmate’s screen during a class, and it left me intensely curious.

14] Belated Birthdays

a) Monica Bellucci turned 50 at the end of September. She continues to be, for me, a symbol of: power, beauty, femininity, motherhood and intelligence.

b) Fran Drescher, one of the most brilliant comedians out there. She turned 50 at the end of September! We learned many lessons from Fran, including: You can never go wrong with big hair.

c) And happy birthday (Oct. 21) to Blanca Suarez!

15] Will Friedle joined Twitter in a Feeny-call kind of way.

16]

Lust is violent, love is gentle. Lust is cowardly, love is courageous. Lust enslaves, love liberates.
Benjamin Nolot

17] Penelope Cruz in Elle France (Oct. 16, 2014)

18] Sonam Kapoor

“Women of worth are those who want positive change for themselves, their families, community or society, which I think is important. For me, a woman of worth is someone who has self respect, who believes that she can change things in society.” SK

19] Nobody does it like Colbert


20]

21] Nicolas Sarkozy says, “Je reviens”

22] Luke Danes

21 Reasons Luke Danes Is the Absolute Perfect Man on BuzzFeed was great. Who doesn’t love Luke Danes? The flannel, the cap, the cooking and the honesty.

[Images from BuzzFeed]

23] Seven Characteristics of the Best Thinkers, According to Harvard here.

24] Gala Gonzalez de verde para Pronovias. A lovely dress on my favorite Galician.

25] I still dream in Hindi sometimes. Salman Khan and Jacqueline Fernandez in Kick.

26] This song and video (it features a young man’s story) is absolutely beautiful. I love One Republic, and this is definitely one of their best.

May November bring us all: some slow days to recuperate from October’s speed, some warm apple cider and eggnog too, some humid rainy days, interesting new people, intriguing places, some cozy evenings filled with blankets, and more awareness of our blessings.

Yours truly.

Leave a Reply

