Hero

From nmagazine.com.br

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Sometimes, we discourage people even though we mean well. Often, we can’t see when people are really unhappy because all we see is what we want for them. We keep pushing them out of love, not out of malice, because we think we know what is best.

I heard Wilson Wilson Jr. tell Tim Taylor a quote: You don’t raise heroes, you raise sons.  And if you treat them like sons, they’ll turn out to be heroes, even if it’s just in your own eyes.”  — Walter M. Schirra, Sr.

I think this is something a lot of parents know. I know my mom always guides us with wisdom and patience. However, I recently realized that I was not being very understanding about something. Instead, I was holding others to the rigid expectations I have for myself. And this doesn’t just apply to raising children, it applies to how we treat and the expectations we have of everyone around us with whom we relate.

Life is complicated. We learn something every day. Thank God.

2 thoughts on “Hero

Leave a Reply

