What I miss about the World Cup

Belongs to Gabriela Yareliz

Belongs to Gabriela Yareliz

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Despite my excitement about autumn, I am still clinging to the last shreds of summer and sunshine in the city. Apparently, so are other Villagers, seeing that yesterday at a crosswalk, I saw half of the Forever21 summer catalog march past me. Soon, the days of long skirts with tribal prints and strips of material people use to cover their upper bodies (they call them crop tops) will be gone. We will be looking like bundled-up, puffy people in no time.  

I am wearing my Spain jersey t-shirt today. After the World Cup 2014 disappointment(s) with Spain, I had buried my t-shirt in a drawer (it now smells like the wooden dresser). I miss the World Cup vibes. A lot. It was one of the highlights of my summer. Here are some of the withdraws I am having– maybe you are sharing some of these, too?

WHY ARE YOU GONE WORLD CUP? WHY…?

1] Scheduling the day’s breaks around the games
2] Rocking team pride and having people talk to me on the street like we were old friends

During 2010 festivities. Rockin' the Spain jersey.

During 2010 festivities. Rockin’ the Spain jersey.

3] Gathering outside of establishments playing the games live and screaming when goals were made

Some fun on West Broadway, summer 2014; Belongs to Gabriela Yareliz

Some fun on West Broadway, summer 2014; Belongs to Gabriela Yareliz

4] Mats Hummels’ and Karim Benzema’s face


5] This song:

6] The classy French uniforms
7] Watching the Belgian hair never move during a game. I want their spray and hair gel.
8] The ADRENALINA.

Belongs to Gabriela Yareliz

Belongs to Gabriela Yareliz

Leave a Reply

