Autumn Fever

Soundtrack for this post: Ben Rector–Yes, let’s bring this back.

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Last year, I really fell in love with autumn. Spring is fabulous; there is always something wonderful about getting some warmth and relief from a brutal winter (looking at you, winter of 2014), but autumn was beautiful. Maybe, I am turning into an autumn girl, or maybe that is how disappointing this weird summer weather has been. In autumn, I love the clothes we get to wear (no need for iron-rubber leggings quite yet), and that back-to-school, crisp, new-beginning feeling. I like the darker makeup, the neater hair, the color palette, and how the leaves look so beautiful while dying. Fall, I have fallen for you. I feel you coming autumn…

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.”
― Lauren DeStefano, Wither

What the excitement is all about:

1] The general feeling: I don’t live in a cozy cabin, but I love how at the Whole Foods entrance, only in this season, the smell of pumpkin and cinnamon spice embraces you.

2] The makeup: Okay, so maybe we don’t walk around with lipstick this dark, but still– you get to be a bit more daring, edgy and dark in your color palette.

3] The clothes: The joys of not wearing a coat but not sweating through your clothes.

So much beauty… have you fallen for the enchantment yet?

I would say “Come soon autumn”, but take your time because I have a feeling you will be here before we know it.

3 thoughts on “Autumn Fever

  1. After growing up in San Diego, those first few years I lived in Iowa I dreaded the coming of Fall because I knew what came next. Now I find it comforting, it seems like it is a time to relax after all the summer’s frantic activities, to revel in that first, crisp coolness of an autumnal breeze on your face as the summer blast furnace retreats, and drink in the afternoon sunlight change of hue. No need to consider what the next season holds, just enjoy each moment that Autumn presents.

  2. Pingback: This Week’s Picks: September 29, 2013 | Gabriela Yareliz

Leave a Reply

