All About Your Heart

By: Gabriela Yareliz Winston Churchill Park, NYC

By: Gabriela Yareliz
Winston Churchill Park, NYC

By: Gabriela Yareliz

I thought I would actually write something; a short note perhaps. The semester is ending. Time is just running like sand between our fingers. It feels like we are on a car that is on fire heading toward a finish line that is actually made of caution tape.

Life has been very blessed. I have been so blessed by those around me. Spring has kind of arrived (we have snow in the forecast for Tues. & Wed.). Now that it’s sunny outside, I need to shut my curtains and pretend it’s still nasty out, so I won’t just start walking around the city like a crazy wanderer. I will seriously say, “I will go out and walk for 15 minutes.” Those 15 min. turn into a nice turn on Hudson street, and a two hour walk down to Battery Park or something.

The weather is making it hard to stay indoors, so maybe I should enjoy the last snow flurries and get over myself.
Floating around in my head are flowers, page numbers to read, colorful skirts, sunshine, that Safe Haven movie by Nicholas Sparks that I saw over Christmas break (This is what happens when you watch one movie a year [especially if it’s a Nicholas Sparks production]), clients and their stories, my friendly pigeons living by my window who have mysteriously gone on vacation now that it’s warmer, etc.

Anyway, the week begins. Time to get busy. Once I start, there is no stopping until next Sabbath.

Don’t forget to look up at the blue skies (and sometimes you will see a cool building top or something you never noticed before); if it snows, do a little dance (in the snow, of course); if you spot a flower, thank God for its beauty; if you meet someone broken, let them hold your hand; if you come across your reflection, make sure you see who you want to be.

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.” Khalil Gibran

Here is a beautiful song, I randomly came across. I thought it was simply lovely.
MINDY GLEDHILL -ALL ABOUT YOUR HEART

/My imagination sees you
Like a painting by Van Gogh
Starry nights and bright sunflowers
Follow you where you may go

Oh, I’ve loved you from the start
In every single way
And more each passing day
You are brighter than the stars
Believe me when I say
It’s not about your scars
It’s all about your heart

You’re a butterfly held captive
Small and safe in your cocoon
Go on you can take your time
Time is said to heal all wounds/

Leave a Reply

