Celebrating Women: Queen Rania

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Queen Rania of Jordan. Her story of becoming queen is every girl’s dream. Her YouTube channel has reached millions around the world. She is a voice for empowerment in education, health, development, youth and cross-cultural dialogue.

She is a mother, recipient of the FIFA 2009 Presidential Award, and she actively works with the United Nations and UNICEF to promote education for young women and a better world.

When I was in middle school, I remember finding her in a magazine, called Vanidades. It was the first time I had ever seen her, and I thought she was so beautiful. The magazine is ironically called “Vanities” (almost like a Spanish version of Vanity Fair meets Vogue). The piece was about her as life and work, and her intelligence astounded me. From that day forward, my admiration for her has continued to grow. I cut out a photo of her, and it was on my wall in my room ever since.

Role-model material. She inspires young Arab women, but as you can see, her influence has gone far beyond the Middle East.

theprincesslettersproject.files.files.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

