It’s all in the family

By: Gabriela Yareliz

Recently, I was walking in front of a stair case when I saw her. She was intensely familiar but at the same time very different. She had a phone in her hand. She was animatedly talking to someone. A look of confusion flashed on her face, and then, she spotted me. A smile transformed her face, and she waved at me. Inside, I felt relieved that she knew who I was because I certainly knew who she was.

Seeing her face, took me here: I remember those hot summer days at Bible camp. Our campers arrival was a big deal. We, the counselors, would line up, with our clipboards in-hand by the entrance of registration. We would all search for our campers and make sure there were no “contraband” items against camp code like nail polish, jewelry or if you were a girl, pants.

I remember the heat was so strong my denim skirt was sticking to the back of my legs. I met her that day. She was one of my campers.

I don’t want to go into too much detail, but she was a feisty and angry little creature. He hair hung straight, she wore baggier clothes than the other girls, and she flirted with the guys that were older than her.

That year, my co-counselor and I had our hands full. We had multiple girls in our unit who were into self-destructive behavior, and we had to constantly be watching them. I don’t think the girls realized how drained and concerned we were for them. We would monitor their every move.

Every night, my co-counselor and I would go outside, just outside of our tent circle for our unit, and we would spend hours in prayer for the girls and for strength.

There were many moments of spiritual battles with these young girls. I particularly remember that this young girl had a breakdown one night; she was so angry at the world, so dark, yet so talented. She could play music by ear, and she was gorgeous. I wondered to myself why it was so hard for her to see herself as we saw her or better yet, as God saw her.

I was 17 that summer. It was my first summer counseling, and at first, to be honest I felt like my co-counselor and I had scored the therapy group. The group from hell, where none of the girls were happy.

At first in my prayers, I figured I was given this group because they needed me. By the end, I realized we needed each other.

As a 17-year-old girl, I was not immune to social and image pressures. I was insecure, and little did I imagine that I would soon be facing a heartbreak.

That summer, as I prayed for those girls, I grew to care for them, protect them and become their friend. I knew I really loved them. I saw them as children of God.

I would need to learn to see myself in that same light.

When I saw her coming down the stairs, not too long ago, I saw a happy, Godly young woman. She embraced me, and there, I knew those many hours of prayer had been answered.

Sometimes, we pray and think about things for a long time. I had often thought of her, but I figured I would never see her or run into her again. I thank God he allowed me to see the young woman she has become.

God answers prayer, and I am convinced that He does everything for the salvation of His children. We are all children of God, and He calls at each of our hearts by name. Will you respond to your Father’s call? He longs for you to pray to Him. When you do, He will not disappoint, instead, He will provide.

He cares. He heals. He loves. He listens. He works on your behalf. Why? You are a child of the Most High God.

“And he said unto them, When you pray, say, Our Father, which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth. Give us this day our daily bread.” Luke 11:2-3

“But to all who believed him [Jesus] and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God.” John 1:12

Pray to your Father in heaven.
“If a son shall ask bread of any of you that is a father, will he give him a stone? Or if he ask for a fish, will he for a fish give him a serpent? Or if he shall ask for an egg, will he offer him a scorpion?

Being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children: how much more shall your heavenly father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask?” Luke 11:11-13

For more information on the Ten Days of Prayer, visit:
http://www.tendaysofprayer.org

Or
http://www.adventist.org

This was Day 2: Children of the King

Leave a Reply

