Happy Valentine’s Day


By: Gabriela Yareliz

I am thinking about true, lasting love. Love that is expressed in action more than word. Love that is commitment and lasts. Love that goes through storms. Love that doesn’t fade. Love that sacrifices. Love that makes us dream. Love that leaves us with no air or words. Love that is powerful enough to change us.

Here is a collection of inspiring things, photos, icons, and music; celebrating love.


Shakespeare in love…


“The very first time I saw her I knew at that point, cross my heart hope to die… my life’d never be the same again.”-William, The Russian Dolls


“Love costs all we are
and will ever be.
Yet it is only love
which sets us free.” -Maya Angelou

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.” Dr. Seuss


Monica Bellucci and Vincent Cassel

“Only once in your life, I truly believe, you find someone who can completely turn your world around. You tell them things that you’ve never shared with another soul and they absorb everything you say and actually want to hear more. You share hopes for the future, dreams that will never come true, goals that were never achieved and the many disappointments life has thrown at you. When something wonderful happens, you can’t wait to tell them about it, knowing they will share in your excitement. They are not embarrassed to cry with you when you are hurting or laugh with you when you make a fool of yourself.”- Bob Marley

“There is never a time or place for true love. It happens accidentally, in a heartbeat, in a single flashing, throbbing moment.” -Sarah Dessen, The Truth About Forever

“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you simply, without problems or pride: I love you in this way because I do not know any other way of loving but this, in which there is no I or you, so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand, so intimate that when I fall asleep your eyes close.” -Pablo Neruda, 100 Love Sonnets


“I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough..” -Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook

“Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind.” -Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream

“Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all.”
-Alfred Tennyson

“If I had a flower for every time I thought of you…I could walk through my garden forever.” -Alfred Tennyson

“Just when you think it can’t get any worse, it can. And just when you think it can’t get any better, it can.” -Nicholas Sparks, At First Sight

“You are, and always have been, my dream.” -Nicholas Sparks



“I carry your heart with me (I carry it in my heart)I am never without it (anywhere
I go you go,my dear; and whatever is done by only me is your doing,my darling)
I fear no fate (for you are my fate,my sweet)I want no world (for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

I carry your heart (I carry it in my heart)” -E.E. Cummings

“One is loved because one is loved. No reason is needed for loving.”-Paulo Coehlo, The Alchemist



“So, I love you because the entire universe conspired to help me find you.”
-Paulo Coehlo, The Alchemist

“Doubt thou the stars are fire; Doubt that the sun doth move; Doubt truth to be a liar; But never doubt I love.”-Shakespeare, Hamlet

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”-Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

“You know, when it works, love is pretty amazing. It’s not overrated. There’s a reason for all those songs.” -Sarah Dessen, This Lullaby

“Gravitation is not responsible for people falling in love.” -Albert Einstein

“When I saw you I fell in love, and you smiled because you knew.”-Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

“He’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.” -Emily Bronte

“What Is Love? I have met in the streets a very poor young man who was in love. His hat was old, his coat worn, the water passed through his shoes and the stars through his soul”-Victor Hugo

“How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach”
-Elizabeth Barrett Browning


“It was love at first sight, at last sight, at ever and ever sight.”

― Vladimir Nabokov, Lolita

Valentine’s Day for journalists…
Hilarious pick-up lines and taglines at Media Bistro.

Song for this year’s Valentine’s Day: Dreams Come True, written by Rudy Perez. It is a lovely song that expresses an emotion that can’t be expressed in simple words.


4 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Pingback: Love-Love-Love | Serendipity 13

Leave a Reply

