This Month’s Picks: April 2014

By: Gabriela Yareliz

April is done. The tension at school is palpable. Exams are looming in the forecast like heavy dark clouds. This month was filled with fun, laughter, some beautiful days and flowers. YouTube finally decided to do an ad campaign with its ever famous and now ubiquitous makeup artists; trees turned pink and their branches were heavy with flowers; we started wearing some color (despite the NYC uniform being black); tension mounted, tension faded; and it seems the month is sad to go because it has turned rainy and cold. The cold weather is perfect for study time. The uglier it is outside, the less I feel the magnetic pull of needing to go wander for hours outside.

Most of all, April was a month of dreams come true. (For more on that, skip to #13.) God is so good.

No matter how long you hold on to a dream, know that it can still come true.

And with that: Welcome May!

1]

2] “Needless anxiety is a foolish thing, and it hinders us from standing in a true position before God. When the Holy Spirit comes into the soul, there will be no desire to complain and murmur because we do not have everything we want. Rather, we will thank God from a full heart for the blessings that we have…” Ellen G. White, Revival and Reformation Devotional, Taken from: “Shun Needless Worry”

3]

4]

Tanning guy: All right Mr. Geller! Right this way! So, how dark do you wanna be?! We have one, two or three.

Ross: Well… I like how you look, what are you?

Tanning guy: Puerto Rican

Ross: Two, I think a two.

5] About healthy living:
Gluten-Free Girl has recipes and ideas: http://glutenfreegirl.com/

About that caffeine: 7 Worrisome Facts about Caffeine

Quitting sugar–for life: http://iquitsugar.com

eatyourbooks.com

6] Chelsea Clinton is expecting! Congrats to her family and the Clintons, soon-to-be grandparents!

Loved this month’s cover of Fast Company:

blog.fastcompany.com

7] When Love Arrives

8] A friend and mentor shared this poem with me.
It was lovely, so, here it is!

I Happened To Be Standing
by Mary Oliver

I don’t know where prayers go,
or what they do.
Do cats pray, while they sleep
half-asleep in the sun?
Does the opossum pray as it
crosses the street?
The sunflowers? The old black oak
growing older every year?
I know I can walk through the world,
along the shore or under the trees,
with my mind filled with things
of little importance, in full
self-attendance. A condition I can’t really
call being alive.
Is a prayer a gift, or a petition,
or does it matter?
The sunflowers blaze, maybe that’s their way.
Maybe the cats are sound asleep. Maybe not.

While I was thinking this I happened to be standing
just outside my door, with my notebook open,
which is the way I begin every morning.
Then a wren in the privet began to sing.
He was positively drenched in enthusiasm,
I don’t know why. And yet, why not.
I wouldn’t persuade you from whatever you believe
or whatever you don’t. That’s your business.
But I thought, of the wren’s singing, what could this be
if it isn’t a prayer?
So I just listened, my pen in the air.

“I Happened To Be Standing” by Mary Oliver from A Thousand Mornings. © The Penguin Press, 2012. Reprinted with permission. (buy now)

9] The games we play:


[From http://mindyproject.tumblr.com ]

10] Dolce & Gabbana is always spectacular.

I love the old world, romantic, feminine loveliness.

11] Monica Bellucci April Cover for Woman Madame Figaro

weheartit.com

http://www.megasabi.com
From Woman Madame Figaro

12]


John Oliver’s Last Week Tonight show premiere on HBO was fantastic, and I am sure it will only get better.

13] Save the best for last…

I saw Carla Bruni in concert, and I had the honor of meeting Nicolas Sarkozy. Thank you God for making dreams come true! God has a way of making things come together. When God moves, He goes all the way for us, not just halfway. Never forget that.

[Above: One of my favorite people in the political world: Nicolas Sarkozy; and his wife, of whom I have been a fan for many, many years.]

A thanks to both of them for coming to NYC. It was an incredible night, and an amazing birthday wish come true.

Her concert was fantastic. She was warm and absolutely lovely. I loved her performance of this song:

2 thoughts on “This Month’s Picks: April 2014

  1. Hi I aam so glad I found your web site, I really fkund you by error, whipe I was researching on
    Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks
    for a tremendous post aand a all round thrilling bloog (I also love thhe theme/design), I don’t have time tto go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and
    also addd in your RSS feeds, so when I have timje I
    will be back to read a gret dal more, Please doo keep up thee superb work.

Leave a Reply

